Neural compartments or bring your own box

This post is triggered by the NT phrase “Thinking outside the box” to which my instinctive reply has always been “What box?” but recently I started to think differently because I realised that pretty much everything I do is contained within a discrete box in my head. I’m not sure how much sense that makes :s so I’ll try to explain. I have a great many thoughts about a great many things, some of which are useful, some not so much, some are about things that are active in my life, some are more random, and if I let them they tend to get mixed up and make things more difficult to explain to anyone else even if they are still discrete and clear in my head. An example – I was talking to an NT colleague about a couple of projects that we are working on together and his comment was “Well that was confusing, you were talking about both projects simultaneously and I kept losing track of which one we were talking about” – I hadn’t realised that doing that would be a problem. The projects are related and there are overlaps between them so it makes sense to talk about them at the same time, but apparently that is confusing. 

So, in my head things make perfect sense, I know what I mean and what box the thoughts are coming from, that part isn’t an issue. I’m now starting to understand that just because things make sense to me that does not mean that thee is automatically shared synergy in someone else’s head, and that conflating ideas from different boxes on the fly doesn’t work for many people, so I have started to try to order things differently. The boxes in my head that are linked have an access password and I am training myself to use that password as a trigger to remind me to explain to whoever I am talking to that we are shifting to a thought from another box and how that relates to the current conversation. 

Life is confusing sometimes :s I’ll work on the clarity of this thought I think but I want to leave it up as is for now….writing it is helping :s

Leave a Reply

